Putting the John McAdams Case in Some Context

ACADEME BLOG

I agree that John McAdams should not be suspended for his speech. Like his colleague Daniel McGuire, but from a much greater distance, I find little in his political views with which I agree. Moreover, although I think that the way in which he handled the situation with a graduate student, which led to his suspension, should have been handled much differently, I am very uneasy that such an action on that should be an offense that warrants the suspension, even with pay, of any faculty member, let alone one who has earned tenure.

(Please note, I am not going to provide links to all of the items that I mention in this post. If you are interested in reading any of the items, you can cut and paste the titles into the Google search box.)

The incident that led to the suspension is reported in Coleen Flaherty’s article for

View original post 760 more words

Leave a Reply

