Ohio Student Association Testimony before the Ohio Senate on Student Debt: Part 3

ACADEME BLOG

Testimony before the Senate Finance Subcommittee on Higher Education

Presented by Alli Rigel

May 19th, 2015

When I first entered college, I was wearing the rose-colored glasses of the American Dream. Having grown up in varied degrees of poverty, supported by a single mother that carried the economic stigma of bankruptcy and ongoing student loans herself, I started working towards my med school ambition very early. I held a job consistently from the moment I turned 16, graduated Valedictorian, collected a handful of scholarships, and gained acceptance at a top university. Although I started at Miami, my mother got a job at Ohio State and so I transferred to get reduced tuition, an opportunity I could not afford to miss since my parents’ offered no assistance otherwise. I flourished at Ohio State, making the Dean’s List every semester in honors, juggling a biochemistry and sexuality studies degree, 20+…

View original post 631 more words

Leave a Reply

